$1,000 to spend on a new rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAGX02

Solid State Member
Hello, I'm a college student and I'm looking to build my own PC for the first time, and I'm trying to get the most bang for my buck. I'll be using this PC for everything, from word processing to gaming. I've got ~$1000 to spend, so I'm thinking the best option would be to go to an online site like Newegg and buy all the parts and then either assemble it myself (I've had limited experience replacing HDDs, RAM, and gfx cards) or having a local place like Best Buy do it for me. I've not had any experience with over clocking, but I would like to look into it, although I'm nervous about frying my hardware or wearing it out prematurely. I'm sure this will affect which hardware I should use depending on whether or not I want to OC it.

There are a whole lot of options out there, but roughly speaking, I had something like this in mind:

[$280]Processor-Intel Core i7 920 (I'm assuming this is better than the 860, even though it is similarly priced?)
I read that the 920 is good because it takes advantage of triple-channel architecture and will be upgradeable later on if I want to upgrade my processor in a few years. It also said something about automatic OC ‘Turbo boost' or something, which might make over clocking easier for a newb like me?

[$250-300]RAM-6 GB of either OCZ or Corsair DDR3 triple channel RAM. I'm not sure which brand is better or what would be a good option (DOMINATOR GT vs OCZ BLADE series vs regular DOMINATOR, and what about low voltage versions of the same memory)? All I do know is that top-of-the-line memory is too much money, so I'd want to scale down to bring me back within my budget.