Career Choice Question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SThompson86

In Runtime
Hello everyone I have question about a possible career/college choice in my possible future.

info on me* I am 23 years, and I currently work as a Intern/co-op at the national corporation Ergon as a IT/hardware tech. I am also going to school for Computer Service Technology(2 year associates program) , in which I like 2 more semesters. After I graduate I will be faced with 2 choices.

The Choices* One choice will be the option to go full time at Ergon as a full time hardware tech, in which I will earn 34K a year. The other choice will be to continue on to a 4 year school in which I will go after a bachelor degree in Computer Information Systems.

My Worries* Going with option one and working full time, I am afraid I would be stuck making 34K for a long time, and that is not what I want to happen, and I also do not want to stay a end user/hardware techie. I want to eventually move into a network administrative role.
The second choice is of course continuing on for another 2 years at school to get a bachelor in CIS. The Bachelor will of course open more doors, and leave me ready to move up into more advanced job openings. The downside to doing the bachelor is that I would have to continue to work on for another 2 years making low pay as an intern..

The ultimate scenario would be great if I could go to night class for a Bachelor in either computer science or CIS; but unfortunately none of the colleges in my area offer night classes for computer degrees as of now.