Upgrading a Dell Dimension 3100 (E310)

Status
Not open for further replies.
on a related note sort of.. Can you use windows xp video drivers in windows 7 for a card that doesn't support aero?

Won't work, mikee. XP and 7 are two completely different animals.

Yes. The 5200 works but just barely. If I had it to do over, I would get a card with a little more horsepower and/or RAM on-board. If you select a card from Dell's 'upgrade' list you should not have any problems with it working with the motherboard. I believe the following URL will take you to that list;
Graphics Cards : Parts & Upgrades | Dell

As far as a driver, I believe I pulled down a vista driver down and it worked fine. I can not say for sure since I try sooooo many things to get my first choice of graphics cards, the "9400GT PCI", to work that it is all a blur to me now.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Take care,
Scott

Yes. The 5200 works but just barely. If I had it to do over, I would get a card with a little more horsepower and/or RAM on-board. If you select a card from Dell's 'upgrade' list you should not have any problems with it working with the motherboard. I believe the following URL will take you to that list;
Graphics Cards : Parts & Upgrades | Dell

Hello and thank you for providing that link. I might go for the Radeon X1550 256MB instead, which has win 7 drivers for download.

What do you mean by "horsepower"? Is there anything I should go by other than RAM?

Thank you,
Emil

Won't work, mikee. XP and 7 are two completely different animals.

I did that with vista on the same computer using xp drivers and they worked but with a few minor issues. I just though it would be the same with 7, guess not.

Hello and thank you for providing that link. I might go for the Radeon X1550 256MB instead, which has win 7 drivers for download.