First build need some advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

PakAndy

Beta member
Hi, Im new to this forum and this is my first post, so first of all a big hello to everybody!

I have decided to take the plunge and build my own PC for the first time and Im a noob when it comes to hardware. The rig will be used for besides the usual office utilities, internet etc. for video/photo editing and gaming (I don't intend to overclock).

This is the configuration I am thinking of going with, the only thing I can't really decide on is the graphics card. This build is more expensive than initially budgeted but I have some extra cash to spend and my current PC is 7 years old so thought of “treating” myself.

MOBO: ASUS P6T Deluxe. V2
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz
RAM: Corsair TR3X6G1600C8, 3x2GB, DDR3-1600, CL8@1.65V (on the QVL from what I can see)
GPU: ??? see below
HDD 1: Western Digital VelociRaptor 150GB WD1500HLFS, SATA-300, 10000rpm, 4.2ms,16MB
HDD 2:Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB WD1001FALS, SATA-300, 7200rpm,8.9ms, 32MB
Optical Drive: LG GH22LS
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V

Also looking at installing a WiFi adapter, the D-LINK Xtreme N PCI Express Desktop Adapter DWA-556

For the graphics card I was first set on the 4850x2 or 4890, but they are not DirectX 11 compatible (does this matter only for games and would this matter in the next 3-4 years?). Started looking at the 5xxx series. The 5870 looks like a very good card but expensive (could afford it though) and is quite big so might not fit in case. The 5850 and even 5770 also look like good cards and a bit cheaper. Would appreciate any advice.

Initially I wanted to go down the AMD route, with the Phenom II X4 965 BE and the ASUS MA79XTD EVO, but could basically not find RAM that is on the QVL and available from the vendors that deliver to where I live (Switzerland). What problems can I get if if I don't get RAM that is on the QVL?