Its my first time and im nervous

Status
Not open for further replies.
Speaking from personal experience...I've never had a problem with building on a carpet. I've only built a couple of dozen rigs, not as many as some around here but the 7 systems I have in the house I've torn apart and put back together more times than I can count....every single time on the carpet in front of the TV. I've never once had a static problem.

It takes months to figure stuff out sometimes... That is the only thing I must say... I right now either have a short connection with mobo and case or a bent pin and i have had it for 5 months... Haven't had time to start it up out of the case though.

The hardest parts IMO are:
1) The rear IO shield - usually this is a tinny piece of junk that makes motherboard installation a PITA
2) The front panel pins - fiddly and annoying depending on the case and mobo

Parts that are tricky first time only
1) Getting the spacers in the correct holes - depends on the case, motherboard etc
2) Getting the correct amount of TIM onto the CPU - I put a blob about the size of a pea in the middle of the CPU and let the pressure from the heatsink base spread it out, different people do this different ways
3) Heatsink installation (particularly on 775) - it should be a tight fit which can make it can be a bit fiddly and unnerving

I don't know about all ASUS mobo's, but I know every Asus mobo I've used has had a REALLY nice IO shield with cushioning and it's sexy black colored with a silver rim. It makes it just a tad bit easier to install :wink_tongue:

And yea, heatsink installation and TIM can be ... puzzling at first. But some heatsinks are easier then others... I know the Tuniq Tower in small cases was HARDDDDDDD to install the first time, but then you got the hang of it after a bit :).

Just throwing it out there that sometimes you can make it easier on yourself when you buy different brands.