Wondering what my best upgrade options are

Status
Not open for further replies.

deaydan

Beta member
Hey guys I got a new computer not too long ago, a beautiful 25.5" 1080p screen suckered me in to a bad deal. Anyways it's the hp pavilion m9517c package, and it's time to upgrade. It came with the AMD phenom x4 9550 2.2 gig, 8 gig ram, 1 tb hard drive 7200 rpm, and windows vista 64 which is gonna be switched to windows 7 soon. Thats about all I know. I've never upgraded a computer before and i'm wondering what the top 5 parts I should put into it are. So far I'm thinking that I want to get the radeon 4850 (if possible), which means that I'll need a new power supply. Past that maybe a new hard drive? idk I'm totally new to all this so any advice would be greatly appreciated. oh i'm looking for mainly gaming upgrades seeing as I can handle anything else just fine right now. my budget is 600-800 dollars (U.S.). Thanks in advance guys!

Welcome to Tech-Forums, deaydan!!!

The best upgrade option for you, would just be the graphic card and power supply.

Upgrading the processor won't really do you anything because the motherboard probably has a very limited choice for higher processors. Besides, the processors above your's are only a few 100MHz faster, which won't be noticeable.

You have more than enough RAM, even too much RAM. But that's good, you don't have to worry about ever needing anymore RAM for now.

That hard drive is plenty. You would want to upgrade it if you see yourself filling up that TB first. See how much is left before you decide.

So for the power supply, this is good enough for your upgrade, plus future upgrades:
Newegg.com - Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
Though I'm not sure if your computer will accept a regular ATX sized power supply. I'm checking on that now.

And an HD 4870 is not that much more than the 4850: