$1000 - go to town

Status
Not open for further replies.

Calzinger

Beer
I'm actually copying my exact post from the Tomshardware forum. I didn't get any answers from those clowns, figured I'd give you nerds a go. :D

--

Alright guys, my four year old 3200+ Winchester and 6800GT are old enough to be stealing my social security, thought it's about time to make a new build. I haven't read up on computer hardware since so excuse me for being completely ignorant. =)

Figure you have ~$1000 to waste on a completely new build.

What do I need this computer for? It's mostly going to be used as a workstation. I'm a big photographer and need RAWs to be drawn/processed rather quickly. I spend plenty of time in Lightroom 2 and Photoshop CS4. I already own a 360 so I don't anticipate too much PC gaming albeit I want to try the likes of Crysis and such. I know I'll be playing games on occassion so I'm not dropping down to some integrated graphics nonsense.

I've currently been doing all of my work on my laptop. It has a 2.2ghz Core 2 Duo T7500, 2x2GB (only 3GB found by windows, 4GB in BIOS - fail) and an nVidia 570m, which is actually pretty decent. But I can only assume that current spec hardware would run circles around this ***. I got the laptop through school, went mech eng so they gave everyone ****** rendering laptops.

I need some kind of backup drive system. Losing originals is not an option. I need my photos to be in two locations. I don't really know much about RAID, only that RAID 0 is haul *** mode. Apparently that's not what I need though since RAID 1 only protects against drive failure. Burning to DVDs is not an option, and I know nothing of these online backup services. Opinions?

I overclock albeit I wouldn't consider myself an overclocker. I'm not going to spend hours and hours and hours tweaking voltages and timings and *** just to squeeze out a lousy hertz. Anyway, I hear these Intels seem like they come underclocked.