ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nahledge

Baseband Member
Hello I just got a new video card because my old one is broken. The computer is freshly installed with vista and is ready to go but I do not have a VGA cable to connect my monitor to my computer....so I connected my DVI cable to the new video card and the screen works and everything but I cannot get into windows or anything....I just get error messages and it says that new hardware might be the cause. I know that is a bit all over the place but yeah, do I need to get a VGA cable to connect to this computer so I can download the driver for the video card in order for it to work with my DVI cable?

Sorry I am not very tech savvy but I think I explained it all, basically just need to know if I NEED to download the driver or whatever to work with my screen connected to the video card. Is there any other way to do this other than getting a manufacturers CD?

Thanks for all the help in advance.

p.s. also where would i search for a driver?

Well ya, its trying to use the old video card drivers with the new video card.

What you should try is Safe Mode, and then run Driver Cleaner Pro, then get the latest drivers from AMD.com (the newest drivers are available there).

thank you so much, I am going to try that now. Using this Mac is driving me crazy.

ok just an update. Somehow I installed windows vista twice? so it asks me which OS to boot...both vista. I cannot get into safe mode but the computer told me to do some stuff which got me to a screen with an option "repair my computer" which seemed appropriate so i clicked that. now going through some loading bars...if this doesnt work im just gonna find an option to completely wipe/restore the computer and start all over to get to safe mode with vernong1992's instructions. ill keep ya posted, thanks again.