Is an i7 920 supposed to run this hot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, so I have that new, big fan installed. But now there's other problems.

Just had a very bad crash while playing Champions Online (whole system froze, and there was this horrendous audio feedback). Temps seem better, overall, but I'm having stability issues when I put the system under stress.

This thing seems like it wants to tackle everything perfectly, but it just can't do it without crashing or resetting eventually. I'd like to blame the heat, but I'm not an expert. The hottest core isn't going above 57 C under stress anymore, though.

It could very well just be Champions Online, I suppose, I only have trouble when playing that.

are all your drivers up to date? after one of their patches i was having really really bad lag until i updated my video card driver..then that seemed to fix the problem

ZOMG you play champions online? what's your main character's name and global handle?

im constantine@soulofadra6on

I have a lot of characters, but my handle is @seeker_vritri

I like the game a lot! I'm supporting it because I'd love to see where it could be in a few years, content-wise.

are all your drivers up to date? after one of their patches i was having really really bad lag until i updated my video card driver..then that seemed to fix the problem

Yeah, I downloaded the drivers for my 260 yesterday. I -am- running the Windows 7 beta, so, that could be part of the problem.

So my temps seem normal, but regardless, the system likes to just reboot after an hour of heavy use (playing any kind of game.)

Any ideas?

Have you monitored the temps while you play. Play for like 30-45 minutes and see how high it gets. Really seems like an overheating problems.

Have you monitored the temps while you play. Play for like 30-45 minutes and see how high it gets. Really seems like an overheating problems.