Members, we need your help and support

Status
Not open for further replies.
The Stock Market means nothing. Sorry to say. but just because stocks are on the rise again doesnt mean jack about a company hiring more people and the unemployment rate going down. Stocks rising just means that those who had large shares of them, are getting richer.

Case in point, Western NY where i live. There is now almost a 25% unemployment rate. The market is soooo saturated with people in dire need of a job that companies can basically hire someone for nothing. Not to mention the fact that they can pick and choose. There is at least 50-100 people applying for the same job if not more.

I have been applying for jobs for over 9 months. I have years of experience in the field that i am applying for and i still have yet to get a call back. No i am not talking about Tech jobs either. I am talking about local jobs at even something as small as a coffee house or a restaurant in which i was a cook for over 6 years of my life.

So just because the stock market is making a come back means absolutely nothing to any single person who is without a job. We dont own stock and therefor we are not making any money by the upswing of stock prices.

Yeah encourage people to spend money, especially when THEY DONT HAVE ANY MONEY TO SPEND. Exactly how does that work Oreo? How can you spend money when you are not making any money in the first place? I would really love to know cause it is something that has baffled me for almost 3 years now.

The US Gov't just did a Cash for Clunkers program where if you have a junk car you could trade it in and get $4500 in trade in value. That went for 5 months before over $1 Billion was spent of federal money. That is a lot of money changing hands right there, yet the economy here is still not in a upswing even after so many people bought new cars.