$950 gaming rig - can i get a compatibility assessment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Papa Smurf

Solid State Member
This is my first time building a PC. Could you guys give me some feedback on whether all of the parts will work together? I think they are all compatible, but i'm a little iffy on the mobo to cpu/GFXcard and if the power supply is right and has all the connections i'll need.

Power supply
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

case
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

processor
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

gfx card
Newegg.com - BFG Tech BFGEGTX260896OCE GeForce GTX 260 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

i think it's a compatible mobo?
Newegg.com - ASUS P5Q Turbo LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

ram
Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Desktop Memory

Hard drive
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

nice keyboard
Newegg.com - Logitech G11 Gaming Keyboard - Keyboards

the only mouse i'll use
Newegg.com - Logitech MX518 8 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Wired Optical 1800 dpi Gaming-Grade Mouse - Mouse

optical drive - seems o.k. and cheap
Newegg.com - Sony Optiarc Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 2MB Cache SATA DVD Burner with LightScribe LightScribe Support - CD / DVD Burners

thermal compound - everyone seems to think arctic silver is the best, right?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007