First time build, nothing happens when I turn on power

Status
Not open for further replies.

Volbedab

Beta member
Hello, I'm a first time builder and just today received my parts in the mail from newegg. The only thing that I did not buy from newegg, I bought used from a private seller, the case and power supply.

Here are my specs.

Amd phenon II x3 720 2.8ghz
asrock mobo M3A780GXH/128M amd 780G +SB710 (has an onboard graphics card and is ready to boot, not sure if that is important info)
Radeon HD 4970 1G ram
Raidmax RX-630A 630 watts
Antec 1200

Don't think anything else is important other than that info... if any other info is needed let me know.

Here's the problem:

When I turn on the power, and press the power switch I get nothing. I think that I heard a short noise, and I may have heard it again after resetting the power supply, but I'm not quite sure as the click of the computer or a squeak from my hardwood floors could have made it. Either way it is not doing it now.
I've check all my connections to my mobo. It seems I'm getting nothing from this power supply but I am unsure. Is there anyway I can test the power supply stand alone to see if it's working? Or is this possibly and issue where I blew my mobo.
Just so it's clear yes I did check my 8xpin 12v connector and I checked my 24 pin to my mobo and they are just fine. I even reseated my cpu just to make sure.
Would static cause an issue with this? I mean I'm at a loss as to why I'm getting absolutely nothing. And yes I'm plugged into a hot outlet. I did buy a power cord from radio shack for this PS as the guy did not supply it. And one last thing I just checked I did not have it set to the US standard of 110 on the back, could this have blown anything?

Thank you for your time, again if you need anymore info to help please just ask.