Buy or build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jewelspoint

Baseband Member
I have 3k dollars to spend on getting an awsome gaming pc, but I'm a bit overwhelmed at all the options when it comes to building it myself. There are so many options, and I've read up on how you need matching chipsets, etc etc. So here's my dillemna; should I just buy a prebuilt, manufactured PC (from dell or alienware or something)? Or, if I should build my own, where can I find a good, high end "suggested build" ?

I read through the stickies, but I noticed the suggested build sticky is about 2 years old. I'm looking to spend around 2k dollars (that includes a monitor, mouse and keyboard) but I can stretch to 2.5 or 3k if it will make a noticible performance difference, but I doubt I'll need to. The most important thing to me is speed, having a PC that can play huge games with no lag, and of course graphics ;) I have no experience overclocking, so I'd like to do no overclocking or only a little overclocking (in other words, play it safe)

So should I buy a prebuilt, or go for building my own? Do any of you have any suggestions on a build?

Thanks for all the help!

James build looks good and Hefe's combo deal makes it better.

If I was going to change anything I would get a 120GB SSD drive. I'm looking at one of these for myself and it's on Sale :D

Newegg.com - OCZ Agility Series OCZSSD2-1AGT120G 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid state disk (SSD) - Solid State Disks

And with your budget I would go ahead and get a nice heatsink setup to match the quality of the rest of the system. This is the best heatsink available at NewEgg.

Newegg.com - Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 120mm SSO CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

Thank you for the quick, thorough replies! I've done a quick look over the products and it looks like quite a wicked build, I think I'm going to stick to a single video card instead of SLI.

What about this proccessor instead?