What should i know?

Status
Not open for further replies.

neverbuiltacomp

Solid State Member
I have never built a comp before, and im wondering what should I know about each part to decide what to buy, and understand the building process a little better.

Thanks

Thanks.
If anyone else has anything, that would be greatly appreciated.

Also, after you build a comp what do you do about adding a program like windows. Im really confused about all of this. I have decided i wanted to build a comp and after reading about some things i got confused about what does what.

Thanks...again

(and i know i kinda repeated myself)

Well first thing you'd need to do is install Windows..

So you'll need a Windows CD, use the BIOS (Basic input/output system [when you start your comp, it tells you to hit a certain button to open it, usually Del, f12, F1, F2]), then change the Boot order to boot from the CD, so you can install, then once its installed, set it back to HD, and tweak Windows to your liking.

ok,now i know that for when i build.

Thanks

ok, so i was checking out PCityourself (thanks slaymate) and i was thinking about what needs to be compatible so the comp works. For example, does the graphics card have to be compatible with motherboard, etc.

ok, so i was checking out PCityourself (thanks slaymate) and i was thinking about what needs to be compatible so the comp works. For example, does the graphics card have to be compatible with motherboard, etc.

Yes.
But most graphic cards today are PCI-Express, and as long as your motherboard has a PCI-Express slot you should be fine. Be sure to install the drivers for all your hardware once you get windows up and running though

Windows will boot with the very basic drivers..
You use those to get you to the point where you use the disks that come with the cards, mother board etc, to load up the final ones.