Question regarding heat sink paste

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moondoggy

Solid State Member
I'm a newbie to building system so I'm having a guy that has built some systems help me the first time out but I'm wondering if he's right or wrong in regard to heat sink paste.

I bought a new Intel Core I7 920 CPU and I assumed that it came with heat sink paste but when we opened the box there wasn't any. The guy that was helping me said I would need to buy some at the local parts store which isn't the issue. Today I was speaking with another associate who said none was needed as the cpu fan that came with the processor alreay has the paste applied as 3 thin strips of gray material. I contacted the guy helping me and he said that what is there isn't enough a bit more would be needed if I was ever going to overclock the machine. I talked to yet another associate who said that putting more paste on top of what was already there was the wrong thing to do as it would not spread evenly and create hot spots.

So my question is who's right? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The person helping you is sort of wrong. You really do not need alot of thermal paste to overclock a CPU. Just a pea-sized drop of paste will do. It's the heatsink that will determine how far you can overclock a processor. Since you're using the stock heatsink that came with the CPU, you won't get that far compared to an aftermarket heatsink, regardless of the amount of thermal paste you apply.

The second associate is correct in the way that you should not put thermal paste on top of what is already applied to the stock heatsink (thermal pad), because you should not mix thermal pastes together.

Thanks for the replies.