Compatability with The Windtunnel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crunkadile

Solid State Member
This may seem like a dumb question but I'm thinking about building a computer and I've been looking up parts on sites like newegg.com etc. The Windtunnel looks very appealing and has many good reviews, I know nothing about the technical aspects, I'm pretty much learning as I go along, anyway, I was wondering if a 5.25" bluray drive would fit, I don't want to start purchasing things and then realize after that the stuff I get is'nt compatable.

Other parts I'm considering: Samsung EcoGreen F2 1TB 3.5 Sata Internal Drive
Corsair CPMSU 750V Power supply
ASUS P6T Deluxe
GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit DDR3 PCI video card
ASUS DRW Internal Burner
Sony optiarc black SATA internal bluray drive (Not burner)
G.Skill Trident 6GB(3x2GB) DDR3 2000 (RAM)
Intel Core i7 920
And of course the XCLIO Windtunnel

Like I said, I'm pretty new at all of this so any advise would be helpful.
Also, what O/S should I use?

All good choices! OS, I'd recommend buying Vista, with a free upgrade to Windows 7. Or pre-order Windows 7 and use the Windows 7 release candidate for now.

I have the same power supply and can wholeheartedly recommend it.

A BD-R drive will fit provided the Windtunnel has 5.25" drive bays, which all cases do.

Thanks alot for the reply, I was'nt sure if I was doing things right, I've heard good things about windows 7 so the vista with the free upgrade sounds really good. The Windtunnel offers room for an additional fan, would that at all be necessary?

Do you mean the fan slot on the rear of the windtunnel? It's probably not necessary to fill it, but you may as well. Decent fans are like $10 (or less).

Are you going to be overclocking, by the way? If not then 1600MHz RAM would suffice and probably save you money.