First Time Builder - eMachines T6410

Status
Not open for further replies.

Egr2012

Beta member
I'm a first time builder, so I do not know, to any extent, where I should go.

My computer has:
2x 512MB RAM Installed (894MB RAM, displayed in Computer Properties).
**This computer can hold up to 2GB RAM.
1x Xpress 200 Integrated Video Card
**PCi Express Slot Available.
1x AMD Athlon 64 3200+ / 2.2 GHz Processor
1x ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Chipset

I'm looking to build this computer to run Mainstream games (i.e. Sims 3), or more heavily RAM "Taxing" games.

I'm looking for a video card to work with a new build, and also any other upgrades or suggestions you guys have.

Thanks,
Egr2012

Your computer is running a socket 939 CPU. The s939 is dead and is now three generations behind the current one. I am also running a s939, so I know they are still viable. ;)

Your CPU is also a single core. That can hinder you in a CPU-intensive game. Finding a dual-core s939 is possible, but not cheap.

Upping your RAM would be a quick and easy upgrade. It would help you out a bit.

Having a PCI-E slot is a huge plus. You would have to upgrade your power supply for any mid- to upper range cards though as you probably have a 300W or less PSU.

Bottom line: Swap out your RAM for a couple of 1 gig sticks and install a graphics card (and possibly a stronger PSU if the card requires it) and you will be able to play Sims 3. Check the requirements of the game and look for a card that falls into the Recommended Requirements, not the bare minimum.

Thanks alot Trotter. Next, like you said, the first thing I will do is upgrade my RAM to 2GB.

But, I have another issue, the CD Rom drive will not open, at all. (I know this isn't an issue of computer building).

Is there any information that could help me try to repair this issue?

When I try to open, there is no clicking noise or anything, it just does not respond.

And further, are there a variety of video cards that you guys suggest?

Thanks.