portable desktop

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcox87

Banned
I'm planning on building a special desktop case that's essentially a giant laptop. It's my first build and I know it's mad. I'm shooting for 600mm x 350mm x 120mm, <25lbs. If it's a little over on some of these I'm alright with that. I anticipate the biggest problem being cooling. Hopefully this will be aleviated by the fact that I'm constructing the bottom out of 2 or 3 laptop coolers. In addition I plan on getting cooling accesories for my HDD and RAM, a good (if smallish) aftermartket cpu fan, and maybe some extra chipset cooling. For material for most of the case I'm going to canibalize my current case and maybe buy another cheap one if I need more. There won't be lot of space for cables so I'm anticipating doing some splicing. I have some experience with electric work and some of my family are electricians, so I will be able to do this safely, but I'm not sure if all of the wires in a computer can be cut and put back together at all. I'm going to have a surge protector built in so the monitor and computer can be plugged in and I'll only have the one cable. I have thusfar not devised a plan to make it battery powered, but that's not a big deal. Please share whatever you think of this project whether it's constructive or not. You might save me some time and money if you convince me i can't be done. However, I would much prefer anyone's thoughts on the best way to go about this, or warnings of problems I haven't anticipated. All feedback is welcome. Please share whatever you think of this project. I'm starting to look for a modular PSU, but my other selected parts, buget, etc. are posted already here:
http://www.techist.com/forums/f75/first-time-build-212464/

Thanks everyone.

can it be done? with a bit of elbow grease, sure. but i don't think it would be practical, unless you are looking to lug around all that weight.

you didn't say what you were going to use it for.