First Computer Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

VIAXUS

Beta member
This is my first time building a computer. I have some experiance workign with them so I am not worried about getting it together but finding the right parts can be tough. After some research I think I am going to go with an i7 but if i cant get enough money may have to go back to a quad.

Here is what i have at the moment:

Case: NZXT ZERO 2 Crafted Series CS-NT-ZERO-2 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

PSU: Seventeam ST-750ZAF 750W ATX 12V V2.2 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Retail

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

RAM: Patriot 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model PVT36G1333LLK - Retail

STORAGE: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives - OEM

OPTICAL: LG Black Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner SATA Model GGC-H20L - Retail

I have left out a GPU because i am not really sure. I would like to run my 56" HDMI with this computer to play Blu-Ray with a good resalution.(is this possible?) Plan on running atleast a dual SLI. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Would also like to run my home theater reciever but i think the mobo will be able to handle this?

I am already over budget so any price saving tips would also be appreciated! Is the i7 worth it?

Thanks!!!

Sorry planned on putting that in there.

Would like to spend under 1,000 but i am already over that. At 1063.93 right now.

Max I will spend is 1300.00 without monitor.

I would swap the PSU you listed for this one
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies