Build Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

FatedOne

Solid State Member
Hi, this is my first time building a computer (after having a really outdated PC) so I need some suggestions. My budget is $600 and I'm using this PC to play games and run many applications with graphics. I'm not sure whether or not all of these components will work together. Will this work with Windows 7 RC? I'm also not sure which Optical Drive I should buy. Is there a better price out there that what I have?

Motherboard (Combo Deal)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Processor (Combo Deal)
AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor

Graphics Card
XFX HD-485X-ZDFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported

RAM
Patriot Viper 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333

Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA

Case
RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEBP 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply

*Thinking to replace Raidmax's PSU in the future.*

Please let me know on what you think of this and how I can make it better.

Windows seven will work fine with your rig, not bad for your first time. but for the same price you get get this which is much better. As for drives there are not any good ones on newegg atm, you may have to buy one locally or from another store.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - XFX HD-487A-ZHFC Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives