Need help building fairly high end performance.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alpin3star

Baseband Member
Okay, so I've got anywhere from 800-1000 dollars to spend on a new rig (if it's 100-200 over I could deal with it). I'm fairly new to computers and am not sure on the components I should be mainly focusing on:eek:. The computer is mainly going to be used to play games like Crysis, CoD4, and Fallout 3. I need a fresh start and some good suggestions on the build. This will be my first PC built by myself so I'm not sure of compatibility of parts or anything, so would appreciate some help.

I'm pretty much looking for everything that my PC will need to run these games at a pretty high performance, including cords if they don't come with the respective parts. Also, I do not have access to soldering equipment, so if that can be avoided (if it is ever needed?) that would be great.

That would be great! I have a HP Pavilion a600n which I could use the case / drives from it if the other parts fit correctly which could save some money. The PSU is useless though. Not sure about the motherboard but I wouldn't really mind gutting the thing and replacing the motherboard, cpu, gpu, psu, and hard drive if need be (already have Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Desktop Memory but may want to upgrade to ddr3 if it's reasonable and performance enhancing).

So IF it's possible to utilize this case / optical drive and still get a pretty top notch system that would be even better.

I wouldn't build a new PC in a HP case, or a Dell, e-machine, etc... There just to small and they lack good airflow which is needed on a higher end PC. Optical Drives are cheap, $25 or so. And the DDR2 won't be compatible with a i7. DDR3 is the way to go. I have to run into town but I'll throw a parts list together in an hour or 2. And I'm sure you'll get some other suggestions as well :D