HP e9150t vs. Dell Studio XPS - Need buying help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moondoggy

Solid State Member
Can anyone give me any insight on the HP e9150t and/or Dell Studio XPS destop systems?

I've looked at both and have prices on a system that has a Intel I7 920 CPU, 8 GB Memory and other similar hardware. Price-wise the Dell is $150 cheaper but the HP has a 1 GB graphic card vs. 512 MB for the Dell. I've read a lot of reviews on the Studio XPS and have picked up on a lot of reports that it will overheat and the fan will kick on at such high speed it sound like an airplane taking off and is either on at high speed or off. I have zero info on the e9150t and I'm guessing that it is very new. Can anyone help me with info on either system?

Since my current system has a generic motherboard and parts I have no experience with either Dell or HP. I do know that to build a comperable system as either the e9150t or the XPS I will end up spending more money for the desktop which won't even include a monitor but I'm concerned about what I may be giving up with either HP or Dell.

Any feedback will be appreciated.

To be honest, you'd get a much better deal by building a system yourself. You'll get better performance for what will likely be less money.

As for the pre-builts, can you give the full model numbers? There are varying models of the Dell Studio XPS.

If I absolutely had to get a prebuilt namebrand computer I'd probably go with Dell. I owned a dell desktop when I was little and it lasted me 5 years before I replaced it, and it was still running with no problems. I currently have a Vostro laptop and it's been surprisingly nice for a portable. Plus it was advertised as a 1.4 dual core but CPUZ reports it as 1.6 haha. Not a big difference but a nice surprise I guess.

Having said that, building your own pc will yield much better results as far as value vs cost.

Yamikotai and Thilly:

Thanks for your replies