First build help

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheLur

Solid State Member
Hi there

So now I'm in need of a new desktop, and i really like the idea of putting one together myself. I'm studying architecture, so I need the power for fairly intensive 3D rendering programs etc... At the same time i'm planning on using this PC as a sort of all-in-one, by putting in a tv-tuner and sound card so i can use it for both music and tv/film. Gaming isn't necessarily a priority, I've been just using a laptop for years so haven't had a chance to play anything decent for a long time (although i do reeeaaallly want to play crysis and empire:total war).

I've been scanning these forums, and everybody seems to buy from newegg, problem is, i'm over here in Britain so no newegg i'm afraid. From looking around, EBuyer.com is the best equivelant here, i boughtmy laptop from them a couple years ago and it got to me in less than 24 hours!

In terms of budget, i'm not looking at more than say, £750 ($1250) for the comp itself. This is excluding monitor, speakers, keyboard and i guess sound/tv cards as they can be added later.

Any recommended builds would be great. I know this budget may mean compromising but I'd just like advice on where to spend the money, and any recommended parts.

I had a go at what i could put together:

Antec 300 Three Hundred Black Case - No PSU - Ebuyer
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe 790FX Socket AM3 DDR3 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard - Ebuyer
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz Socket AM3 8MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor - Ebuyer
Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC3-12800 XMS3 DHX Memory Kit - Ebuyer
ZOTAC GTX260 192 Core SYNERGY EDITION 896MB DDR3 Dual DVI HDTV PhysX and Cuda ready PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer
Arctic Power 700W PSU - With PCI-E, 4x SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed - Ebuyer
LiteOn 20x DVD±RW Dual Layer & Ram IDE Black Bare Drive - OEM - Ebuyer
Hitachi DeskStar 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM - Ebuyer