Building New System..HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atament

Beta member
Hey guys and gals...I'm new to the forums here but have been on them here and there looking up advice, and most of the posters seem very knowledgeable and friendly so I decided to register and make a post of my own.

I'm looking to build a computer (not sure whether to build it myself or to customize one somewhere online, however..) roughly in the $1000-$1500 range. Obviously as always, the cheaper the better. Funds are very tight right now and probably can't even afford that but this isn't going to be a right-away-project. Looking around, it seems as i7 is the way to go. I'll be using the PC for a lot of gaming, as well as video editing/animation/modeling as I'm a student in that field as well. I do want to have a bit of "future proof" in mind.

I'm not as up to date on technology right now as I used to be, and ANY recommended builds would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Yes in that price range i7 would be the way to go.

Do you also need monitor, keyboard and mouse in this budget?
Do you have any parts from old builds that can be used in this one? ie hard drive, cd drives etc.?

Although no one can argue the performance of the i7's, you may get more bang for your buck in the field of gaming by going with AMD. You can get a nice quad core cpu for hundred(s) less than the i7's and spend the money saved on better video card(s). i7's will outperform in the video editing/modelling, but in some cases not by a huge margin. Check out some benchmark reviews/comparisons, you may find specific numbers regarding programs you run.

If I wasn't a college student/broke musician, I'd build an i7 rig.

Instead, I must advocate for AMD.