First Build: Want Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

davinci28

Beta member
Hey everyone. I'm a first time builder, taking advice from my older brother who built his own a few years ago. Right now, I have a Dell E310, integrated graphics, 2 PCI slots, both filled (wireless and TV capture cards). I got it for Christmas 2006, and it has served me well.

Now, however, with games advancing so fast, I want a rig that can handle them, and be able to upgrade.

So, I put this together. I'd appreciate any comments, concerns, questions, criticisms, advice, etc.

Case: Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black ATX Mid Tower

Mobo: EVGA nForce 790i

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66GHz

RAM: G.Skill 4GB (2x2) DDR3 Dual Channel

Video: EVGA Gefore 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-Bit

PCU: Need some advice in this department.

So far, that's about $700. I'd like to go no higher than $750, so keep that in mind if you have any suggestions.

Also, will the Video Card fit in the case? I don't know how to tell. If anyone has a better graphics card in mind, feel free to mention it.

I'm taking the Disk Drives, Hard Drives, Wireless, and TV Capture Card from my current computer, as well as using my current (aftermarket) monitor, wireless keyboard and mouse, and speakers, so don't worry about those.

In short, what do you think?

The 790i is way too expensive for what you get out of it. In fact, most nVidia chipsets are too expensive, and I would only recommend getting one if you were going to SLI later.

The Q9400 is a good processor. I would get this combo deal for it though: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

The Biostar there is one of the best overclocking boards out there, and it's 85 bucks after that combo deal. You'd be saving over 100 bucks, which you can put into a better GPU.