Could this become a decent gaming machine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

john.roswen

Solid State Member
I got an old custom built Nobilis for free. It was previously being used as a server. It has a 2.0Ghz pentium 4 processor, 1gb ram, and two 80 gig hard drives. The graphics, however, are some integrated intel chipset. I tried some older games on this machine (hl2) and they dragged.

If I were to invest in a new graphics card for this thing, could it be turned around into something worth keeping? I know I won't be able to get a supercomputer here, but would COD4 on low detail be possible?

I opened it up and from what I can tell it has 5 PCI slots and 1 AGP slot. AGP slots are brown, right?

I could really use some help here, I've never done anything like this before.

Thanks!

The slots don't have a specific color. That is determined by the manufacturer or the motherboard. Look on the motherboard for indications of what the slots are such as 'x16' or 'PCI' or something like that. They are usually marked somewhere around the slot.

That computer MIGHT be able to pull off COD4 on low settings with a graphics upgrade.

It would be best if you could give us the model of the motherboard. Look around closely for it.

Right off the bat though, I'm going to tell you that no matter what, that computer is going to suck. Whether or not you think its worth it to put money in it is up to you but I personally wouldn't. I would personally save up and build yourself a brand new computer, which we can help you do too.

I figured as much. I'd feel kind of bad just tossing it though. Thanks for the quick reply. I guess I'll just keep saving.

I know this is getting off topic, but I was looking through that site. Something is wrong. I was toying through the options and got a dual core setup with more than I could ever need for just under 800 dollars. How is that possible for a custom built machine with that much power?