Computer will not turn on. please assist

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rgortiz3

Solid State Member
Ok. So, I recently pulled a not so intelligent move. I have been studying computers for about two years on my own, in my spare time. I have a good deal of knowledge about them now, but the thought came to me --->," What does the CPU look like?". So, me being as bright as I am:nerd: I lifted up two (one on each side) levers which held down the processor (layered= Processor, Metal prong towers thing (I would love to know what this is for), fan) and took the contraption out of the socket. After a few "ooows" and "aaawwws" I pluged it back in, snapped the levers back down, and plugged in my computer once again. What do I get? My computer will not POST, no sound activity comes out of the tower what so ever. A Orange light on the front of the computer (where I push the power button) indicates a problem. This light used to be green. I opened up the case, and I can hold down a button on the PSU and it runs power through all the circuitry, and then I hear everything booting just fine. I can hear the normal "beep beep" when my computer boots, and the lights inside the tower come on, and also the fans start spinning. No visual output is being made. Can anybody please give me some ideas on what might have happend, and how to fix it?

1. the Metal prong tower thing is called a heatsink, it is to draw heat away from the processor (to prevent it overheating and frying)

2. You'll want to check you put the cpu back correctly. Make sure you didn't get any dust/dirt etc. in the socket or on the cpu. Also, when you put it back, make sure the heatsink is firmly attached again. You shouldn't really be able to move it at all.

If that doesn't fix your problem, then you might have fried your processor.