Computer Will Not Power On

Status
Not open for further replies.

dipique

In Runtime
First off, I am an experienced system builder. Typically if a system doesn't boot, at least it will do some pre-POST sounds and lights. This time, I may as well not even have the thing plugged in.

Here's the config: E7400, ASROCK G43TWINS Mobo, TR2-430W PSU, G-Skill DDR2-1066 RAM (2x2gb). That's all that's hooked up right now, and I don't get lights or anything.

I was thinking bad PSU, but I plugged it into another computer and it turned on just fine. I thought bad power switch and I tried shorting the power pins, but still got nothing.

I even tried removed the battery and setting it to clear the CMOS even though without the mobo powering up I don't see that making a difference.

I'm baffled. Is my mobo DOA? Is there some way I could have moronically connected something wrong to result in this? I'm sure the 24-pin power connector is on right (God knows I checked it plenty of times), the northbridge 4-pin power is also connected, and I tried it without one, the other, or both with identical problems (although either should allow the PSU to at least fire up its fans).

Ideas?

Dan

Try with only 1 stick of RAM. Try in a different slot, etc. Try removing all of the RAM and then try booting as well; you should get a POST error that there's no RAM. Then try individual sticks.

bad mobo would be my guess... I can't think of much else it could be... all you really need to fire up a mobo is a psu mobo and pwr switch. *which you of course know*. yeah, dead mobo

Ah, oops, missed that it wouldn't even turn it on. Was multitasking while reading the post :laughing:.

If it doesn't power up at all, I'd have to agree that it's a bad mobo.

Thanks, guys. That's what I figured it was, but I wanted to check before I went through the hassle of sending it in.

Dan