Building a Personal Gaming Computer. Budget: $600.00-800.00

Status
Not open for further replies.

centcuse

Beta member
Hey guys,

Here's the deal. I've been using Toshiba Satellite X205-S9800 : Read reviews and compare prices at Ciao (Laptop) for the past year. I ordered it last February and received it in March. I've been using it as a gaming computer ever since. It stays on. I'm running it on a Zalman Zm-nc2000black : Accessories / Laptop Pcs / Computers which is a cooling fan that stays on under it. Laptop stays on for days at a time which isn't good for a laptop to be honest. I'm starting to have problems. It is running regularly at 70c+. This is not a good temperature for it. It goes above 85 when running games.

Yesterday I started playing Huxley beta and it shut off my laptop 2 times which leaves me to think my laptop just can't handle up-coming games. With Aion coming up, I can't risk not having a good gaming machine for it. I've never built a gaming pc in my life but have wanted to for the past 5 years; I think it's time to do so. I need help. Either I can purchase an already built machine since I don't have a ton of knowledge on actually building pc's (I've added ram and stuff before on pc's) or I can actually build it myself. I'm not looking to spend more than 550.00 (800.00 max). Goal would be 625.00 or somewhere along the lines of. Now if you feel I need to spend more to get what I'm looking for which is being able to multi-task while having no problems gaming on Aion for instance, then build me a pc that's a little more expensive. I'm use to e-machine gaming on wow and using this laptop for the past year. So as you can imagine many cheap gaming pc's would be nice upgrades. You would think this laptop being how expensive it is would handle more, but It really can't handle anything on high settings flawlessly. I just don't want it to overheat and it's time to let it rest a little and upgrade to a real machine. I'm looking to be wow'd by graphics.