After reformat, cable modem not detected

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zhain

Solid State Member
Hello, I recently reformatted my parents' computer to get rid of a nasty rootkit that I couldn't seem to clean off otherwise. After installing XP Pro, it did not seem to recognize the cable modem/router setup I had going previously, i.e I plug the Ethernet from the router into the back, and nothing.

This is my first time reformatting a PC, and after fiddling with the Windows Network Setup and such wizards, had no luck. I have seen recommendation of using a CPUZ program to show information, I have attached a .jpeg with the computer's information on it.

It is an older Dell model, if that makes any difference.

Here is the .jpeg, if anyone can point out any downloads I need from the intel site or otherwise, it would be much appreciated.

http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/7449/cpuzboard.jpg

Any other advice to get the internet up and running on the computer would be greatly appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance!

Here's a link to the download page for that model:
Drivers & Downloads

You should need sound and chipset. Use Everest to find out what all you have onboard (LAN, graphics, etc) and Google for the drivers for them as the manufacturer will have newer drivers than Dell will.

So then I should get the Sound and Chipset drivers from the Dell driver download page you mentioned, and then go looking for others after using this Everest program?

I apologize for troubling you further, but would you be able to be more specific?

Is there anything I can post from Everest to help?

The easiest for you would be to get them all from Dell. these are the ones that Dell has tested with and approve for your computer.

While Trotter is correct in the fact that you could find newer drivers from the manufactures of specific components of your computer, If you make a mistake with which drivers you install it could cause some problems.