Building new computer, some questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaskTool

In Runtime
So I recently started obtaining parts that I need for my new computer, i'm not a professional, and my brother is helping me in part.

So far I bought the Intel DG31PR Socket LGA775 Motherboard at Compusa. And 2, 1gb sticks of DDR2 ram, I do not know what brand.

I also have a 450 watt power supply that is in a box.

For the optical drive I plan on taking one from one of my older computers, since those seem to be just fine.

But, for the hard drive I was wondering if I would be able to use one off of an extremely old computer, or perhaps a semi old one. Only 40gb, and I think that it would make the rest of my computer look pathetic. My brother might give me a 100 something gb HD, but I am not counting on it.

Either tomorrow or soon, I will buy the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3.0Ghz, from Compusa, OR online, like some folks here instructed me.

Sorry guys I had the money and I went to Compusa with the family, so I couldn't help myself. I'm wondering if the Intel DG31PR was a good choice for a motherboard.

For the case, I will get that soon enough.

I really just want a fast computer that can play left 4 dead at decent speeds, I have an eVGA Geforce 6200, 256mb, PCI Graphics Card, but I doubt it can handle modern games.
I have however seen it handle left 4 dead at really good framerates, but with some lighting problems. I will upgrade the graphics card later on, the motherboard DOES include a pci express x16 slot, I made sure it did.

Any ideas of what I should do?

What brand is the power supply you have?

You can use an older hard drive, as long as it is either IDE or SATA.

The E8400 is a great chip, no problems there.