Gaming Computer Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guttzu

In Runtime
I posted a little while back with plans to build a computer come June/July because of possible price drops etc... I was given info on what to buy from everyone here on the forums and it looked great.... Now on to the problem...

The computer is going to be a gift so I am not the one supplying the funds... I repeat... It is not my money... So the big objection my Mom and Grandpa have is the fact that I have never built a computer before as well as it isn't being assembled by a pro tech. They are also concerned about warranties and such because buying from Cyberpower or Ibuypower means a warranty through them and tech service which is appealing to both my Mom and Grandpa. So their big things are 1. I've never built one 2. Warranty from a computer building company 3. Assembly by a certified tech.

I don't really know how to argue against this other than the price difference will be a good amount if I build it myself. I think for a good i7 build on Cyberpower it was around $2,400ish shipped with GTX 285 and one 300gig WD Raptor drive etc... No monitor!

If anyone has any suggestions on how to persuade them I would love to hear it..... What type of warranties are offered from Newegg/Manufacturers on parts etc...? Also if it comes down to it next month I might just talk them into me building the tower and buying the Samsung LCD monitor myself (guilt trip yay)... Any help would be great.... thanks guys :)

You would receive the warranty that the manufacturer of the parts give.
As a general rule it is around 3 years but this can vary. It will almost always be as long if not longer than any warranty given by a reseller.
For example XFX gives a double lifetime warranty on its GPU's meaning your lifetime and a second lifetime warranty if you sell it.
The one drawback is you have to deal with the company yourself and diagnose the problem.