First time PC build + cooling questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nyllus

Solid State Member
Hey guys, this is my first time building a PC.
It will be used for gaming, music, video, browsing, etc.

It would be great however if some of you would have a quick look over it and check that it looks alright and i'm getting the best possible parts for the money. I know there isn't a motherboard there yet, but i'm havn't completley decided on the Processor yet (might go with AMD), so no point choosing a motherboard till i'm certain.

Here is my build so far minus motherboard, monitor, keboard/mouse and CD/DVD drive.

Processor - Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz
Graphics - Sapphire HD4870 1GB
Memory - Corsiar XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) 800MHz/PC2-6400
Hardrive - Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB
Power Supply - Corsair HX series 520W modular
Case - Antec Nine Hundred

Thanks for reading this far.

I also have a few questions about cooling if thats ok.

1. I have heard that the 4870 runs pretty hot (80oC+). Would it be a good idea to buy an aftermarket cooler of some kind? I want to get the longest life possible out of my PC so really I want everything to run as cool as possible.
The problem though is I also want to keep the PC quiet, so increasing the fan speed to deafening levels isn't really an option which is why I i've been looking into aftermarket cooling. Other than that, is there really any other way I can keep the card cooler? (watercooling is too expensive and I don't believe is necessary)
I WON'T BE DOING ANY OVERCLOCKING. Not yet anyway...

2. Same question but for the Processor.

3. Would it be a good idea to replace and/or add more fans to the case to improve cooling?

Thanks for your time.

if your not overclocking then there is no point in buying aftermarket cooling. as for your build what is your budget? the parts you have chosen are old. if you tell me your budget i could make a nice build for you