Quadro vs. GeForce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

trekkie00

In Runtime
My computer is a bit over a year old, and considering it was a budget build then, it's starting to show its age. Right now, I'm an engineering student and will likely have to use CAD software for the next several years. When I either upgrade this computer or build a new one, should I go with a Nvidia Quadro or GeForce card? I can't imagine the lower end (sub-$200) Quadro cards being more powerful than the GTX 260, but that's definitely from a gamers perspective. Right now I use a 7600GT (like i said, budget build), so how would they compare to it?

Just figured that running CAD software on a card designed for it might prove beneficial in the long run.

Thanks for your help.

As far as i know they make quadro's based on the some of the latest GPU's. For example i remember one of the old quadro's which was similar to an 8800gtx but engineered for CAD. Obviously CAD cards cost a lot more, and I'm guessing they do a lot better in CAD work then gaming cards would, but a high end gaming card would still provide unless you are doing very high end work. I don't know a whole lot about this maybe zmatt will come and help since he is into CAD, but i can tell you this, a CAd card would do alot better than a 7600gt, they are weak even for gaming.

from what i have heard the quadro's are not good for gaming compared to the high end gaming cards. for you its not worth buying one, to expensive. just upgrade to a gtx260 core 216 that will own your old 7600gt

I would agree, unless you're doing very high end modeling I don't think it'll be worth it if you're still trying to play new games. I'd grab a higher end Geforce card if I were you.

from what i have heard the quadro's are not good for gaming compared to the high end gaming cards. for you its not worth buying one, to expensive. just upgrade to a gtx260 core 216 that will own your old 7600gt