Building First Computer; Advice Needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JudgeJimmie

Solid State Member
Hi, I am new to these forums, as I found it by a simple google search trying to find help with my First Computer Build. I am 18, and headed for college next year, and I want a nice desktop computer to go with my iBook G4, that I am using now.

I have some knowledge of computers, but I am very new to building them myself and the hardware required within them.

I would like the computer to be fairly powerful. I am going to Michigan Technological University and I would like my computer to be able to run engineering software easily. I also like to do 3D animating and video editing. I am not a huge PC gamer, as I prefer console, so the gaming side of the PC isn't really needed. However, I don't know how much more making the PC able to play games well would cost.

I would like the price of this system to be reasonable, however, I want the computer to last a long time, so I don't want to cut corners. I don't have an exact dollar amount, but I would like to keep it around $1000. I am building this computer as a graduation present, so I will be able to scrounge the money I have saved, with whatever I am able to get at my graduation.

Anyways, on to the hardware that I have researched and thought would be good so far. This is hardly based on my knowledge of computers, and more on quick put together guides. I am not sure if any of this hardware will work for the build I have described above.

Motherboard.
Intel® Desktop Board DP45SG - $140

CPU
2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor - $140 (I'm not really sure about CPU's but I think I may like a better one than this. Cost dependent I suppose.)

RAM
Seems like 4GB is a safe number to have, but not really sure - (Price?)

Graphic Card
Radeon HD 4830 - $100 (Is this to much for a light Gaming Type PC. Maybe stay with it just because in college, I may get into gaming more. I can always upgrade Graphic Cards I believe.)