Need advice on 1st time budget build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dudeman

Beta member
Hello, I am a first time computer builder (finally got motivated when my old clunker Compaq finally died on me) and would like some advice on my current build.

Unfortunately I am a fairly poor college student on a budget, so I am looking for a build around $600-700. I am not what one would call a “hardcore” gamer, but I do like to play computer games and would like a build that won't go out of date too fast so I won't be able to play newer games over the lifetime of the system. I should also note that I probably wont buy anything bigger then a 19” or 20” LCD monitor due to my budget so I won't be playing at really high resolutions. Other than gaming, I will mainly be using it for general use (internet, word, etc..), watching movies/videos, and maybe even some light video/image editing.

Anyways, here are the two builds I am considering right now.

Build 1

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core

Motherboard: GIGABYTE LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU & Motherboard Combo - $250 after MIR
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Video Card: ASUS GeForce GTS 250 512MB – $115 after MIR + CoD: WaW
Newegg.com - ASUS ENGTS250 DK/HTDI/512MD3 GeForce GTS 250 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 - $60 after MIR
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

Case: RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WEB 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower - $55 after MIR
Newegg.com - RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case - Computer Cases

Ram: CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 - $45 after MIR