pc upgrade for gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

mal

In Runtime
hi! Im new here,and I need help because i dont know much in computers.I searched on google for a forum about pc hardware and I found this one :cool: Im a gamer and I was wondering what I would have to change in this computer to be able to play the next generation games smoothly,like half-life2,doom3,and the battlefield series.Im a newbie in pc hardware...my friend got me this pc 3 years ago,but more the time advance,more the games are demanding.

my pc:
P4 1,6ghz intel
motherboard:asus p4b(go up to 2.00Ghz processor,cant support DDR)
Ati radeon 9600 128mb
512 mb ram pc133
two 40gig hard-drives Quantum 7200
WinXP pro

Yesterday I ordered this:

intel p4 3.0ghz [800] 1mb
asus mobo p4p800-se[s478]
kingston 512Mb ddr[400]Dual

But i dont know if it was REALLY necessary.Would the new hardware improve gaming experience,even if I keep the vidcard?

thanks,

It wasnt a totally necessary purchase as ur system would run doom3, hl2 but with settings turned down, but as u say games get more and more demanding all the time so i would say u have made a sound choice ordering what u have.

You will get a nice boost even if u keep the radeon 9600 but more importantly u will have a nice system ready for whenever u decide to get a new vid card too.

Also, and just as good, you'll appreciate how fast ur new hardware is when u use ur pc for anything other than gaming too!

Enjoy!

cool thats what i was wondering..if id get a boost or no.And for doom,ive tried and its a little laggy even at low settings,but that game is made to be played at high settings,so better get new hardware!

thanks,

Get a 6800GT. It is the absolute best value graphics card available today. It will cut through Doom3 and HL2 maxed out with AA and AF, and you won't see a bit of lag.

6800 series..its a plot against me right!!?to ruin me??:money: :freak: :money: