water cooling loop for ~150?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Burn

Fully Optimized
im a total noob when it comes to water cooling, and was wondering if i could set up a cpu loop for around 150. possible?

Haha, I am here!

Just a quick note. There is now a subforum at the top of the Overclocking section dedicated to pc cooling.

I'll have a mod move it there.

In the near future I'll be putting together parts lists, and a guide for water cooling.

Now to the matter at hand.

"Can you make a good water cooling loop for $150?"

Yes, but it will definitely pay off if you can find used parts. Browse places like [HardForum], Xtremesystems, and Anandtech for used water cooling parts and you can save a pretty tidy amount.

For a cheap CPU loop I would go for something along these lines.

Petra's Tech Shop

Instead however, have them change the radiator to a MCR220.

Keep everything else the same and you'll have a nice basic loop that can be upgraded, or expanded as the need and or cash arises.

That is a really nice setup...I may look into that later on when I have money for my new 720...

In a few months I'm going to be looking into getting a cpu loop as well. I'll look into that kit as well. What would I need to give the water some blue color?

And how can you get them to change the rad for an MCR220?

Before I had picked out some parts for around 200 bucks: MCP355 pump with an XSPC res top, MCR 220 rad, Apogee GT cpu block, pt nuke, some 1/2" ID green tubing, and some worm drive clamps.

In a few months I'm going to be looking into getting a cpu loop as well. I'll look into that kit as well. What would I need to give the water some blue color?

And how can you get them to change the rad for an MCR220?

Shoot them an email or give them a call and they should do it for ya no problem and then send you a quote for the total.

If you want blue color, add some Pentosin G11, which Petras also sells. It will give your water a lightish blue color.