Big problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmyt05

Solid State Member
This morning i woke up and went over to my computer, which was left on overnight, like always. I turned on my monitor and it said "monitor going to sleep" but my computer was still running. I did a hard shut down and turned it back on only to find my monitor was still asleep. Being as i'm not really technically savvy, i unplugged everything and then back in. Pressed power and the fan ran for less than a second, then shut back off. Pressed it again and the power light stayed on, but no fan. After a few more on offs, now there is no power whatsoever. What do i need to do to fix this?

At first I was going to say possible video card or cable dead (since the monitor was working and said it was going to sleep), but now sounds like a power supply.

Replace the power supply and see if that fixes the issue. Could have been dieing and didn't have enough juice to power the video card.

Thanks for your reply. Any suggestions on where i can get a decent, low priced power supply?i know nothing about them. Are they easy to replace? If it's not the power supply, am i pretty much screwed? Any help would be great.

If it isn't the power supply, you're only screwed out of the money you spend on the new power supply. Then we'll go into other areas if it isn't the power supply.

IF you have a multimeter you can test the power leads from the power supply you have now to see if they aren't giving out the correct wattage.