New build...er kinda :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pyrothrillah

In Runtime
Ok guys this is the deal, about...err 3 maye knocking on 4 years ago I had planned on building an up to date gaming system. At the time it was fairly nice, spend about $1000 on the tower and componets.

Anywho to make a long story short I put it all together, fired it up and didn't get anything more than fans firing up and a nice light show. I just put it aside and haven't messed with it until recently because I'm in need of a computer like badly.

I am pretty sure that I bought the wrong RAM for the mobo maybe? Maybe the vid card was a dud? This is my first time to actually build a computer so any help would be greatly appreciated. I will list the specs the best I can for not being at home near them :)

Viper Case
120G Seagate HD
EVGA 7900GT
A8N32 Deluxe SLI mobo
Corsair 2G of pc3200 ram (I think)
Athlon 64X2 3200

Anyways, yeah. I've never been able to get video output out of this thing and I feel completely stupid for wasting all of that money and never putting this thing together. I have been out of the computer thing for awhile and I just want to be up and running playing up to date games as well as possible. I play WOW for the most part and want something going that will handle anything in the game.

Also, let me know how bad out of date I am here. I looked at video cards last night watching demos on like the 280 FX I think and whatnot. I know the EVGA 7900GT was an awesome card back then and now I see on ebay people selling them for like 20 bucks lol.

Thanks guys.
-Bill

Also, I forgot to mention that I have Windows XP new in box. So I don't need an OS.

I'm looking for a cheap, fast way to get this computer going.

Is it semi put together right now? Did you plug both power plugs into the motherboard and the extra power plug into the video card?