Nub trying to build her first computer :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoddessVirage

Baseband Member
I, like perhaps so many other people on this forum, are a giant noob when it comes to building computers. I've always wanted to try, so now I am planning out my first build. I think I have mostly everything in good order but before I go ahead and start purchasing parts and accidently making ridiculously stupid mistakes I'd love some more experienced people's feedback. I am aiming for a PC that can handle Photoshop/Adobe Creative Suite like a mac can (my mac laptop is on it's literal last leg, it's done me great for almost 7 years but alas.. I can't afford a big mac system atm so this is the nest best thing) so I choose the quad processor. Otherwise being an artist, I am addicted to World of Warcraft so I'd love a computer that could run the game very well and not give me 4 frames per second in Dalaran :p This is currently what I have lined up (I took a lot of advice from mysuperpc.com- I don't know if that was good/bad thing). I am sure there are some silly mistakes in here-

GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard – Retail
>>Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
-$104.99

Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9400 2.66GHz 1333MHz 6MB LGA775 CPU, OEM
>>SuperBiiz.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9400 2.66GHz 1333MHz 6MB LGA775 CPU, OEM
-$207.00

Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive – OEM
>>Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
-$79.99

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
>> Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
-$44.99