Trying to build my own computer, looking for suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

KingbobertVII

Baseband Member
Here's my build so far, it seems to be pretty reasonable and its only about 1100$ with shipping accounted for after mail-in rebates, so it wont totally destroy my bank.
I've never done this before, so I was hoping to get some suggestions as to what might work better, or even if some parts are incompatible that I have overlooked. Thanks for your help, and/or comments in advance.

LITE-ON 22X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black IDE Model iHAP422-08 - Retail
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000KSRTL 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Retail
Acer X193W+BD Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail
EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX(G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TW3X4G1600C9DHX - Retail
XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S8P4 850W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Retail
XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor Model HDZ720WFGIBOX - Retail

Seems a bit overpriced for that. Are you building this yourself? The 9800 gtx is a bit old. At the least grab the 9800 gtx+ version. Also, for the same amount you could build an intel build rather than the slightly slower phenom II x3. Also, I haven't heard of that brand for a PSU, but in any case, 850W is very overkill.

Lastly, I believe drr3 ram runes in tri channel, so you'd need more like 6 gigs. ( I could be wrong on this)

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops