PC identify please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onymaru42

Baseband Member
Hello, im new to computer maintenance and trying to learn all I can. A friend recently gave me a computer he found on the side of the road, the case was smashed up a little but it still runs that I know of. Only problem is, I cant get the graphics card to load up. When i boot the PC up, it wont display anything on the monitor. I have installed a new card but it still wont work. The pc is a CTG acer intel triton. (this is all I could find on the PC) It has a HP diskdrive in it. It also has dual power in the back, 1 normal plug in and then 1 that looks like the power cord u plug in. In the front of the PC it has 3 buttons, 1 is a power button, 1 restart and I don't know about the other 1. From what I can see on the motherboard, it says AOpen (i guess this is the brand..) I can post pics of this PC if needed. Please help me solve this problem, if im not specific enough just tell me and ill post more.

does the computer beep when you turn it on? does it have a speaker inside the case?

start reseating hardware. memory, hd cables, power cables.

did you put the new video card in the same slot as the old one? can you try another?

No it does not beep when it turns on, the harddrive is really loud tho. Also, yes I did put it back where I got it. How do I reset everything if I cant see the screen? (again I'm new XD) Oh and no speaker in case..

Okay, I tried to reset, doesn't seem to do anything tho. Still doing the same thing. I tried putting the card in different slots, but it still wouldn't work right, I also used 5 different monitors with it thinking that the monitor was somehow incompatible. I did notice 1 thing tho, and again I might be wrong and sound stupid from this.. theres 4 slots for what looks like RAM, but no memory slots. Theres 2 cards of RAM in it.