sata drive installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bappin

Solid State Member
Hey Guys Im a newb at building computers I am currently in the proccess of building my first computer. I have 2 -250G seagate baraccuda HD both sata
and 2 - liteon dvd/cd burners both are sata. I have 4 sata ports on my asus mobo. the question is do I just plug them into the mobo at the sata ports or do I have to do something differnt? and what is the best way to set them up? raid or 2 seprate drives ?
:confused:

You can just plug them in. If possible i like hd's in 1 and 2 cd's in 3 and 4 but it does not really matter. I would set the hard drives up as 2 different drives. 1 for os and programs and 1 for data. what os are you installing?

Hef is right, and if you want the SATA speeds you'll have to install a 3rd part driver for the motherboard in order for XP to see / use the SATA drives. This will have to be done while installing the operating system. If you've already installed the OS you won't be able to install this driver and you won't be taking advantage of the SATA speeds.

If you don't care about all that your motherboard can probably emulate the IDE environment and will see the hard drives just fine.

If you want to install the driver you'll have to first go into your BIOS and enable ACHP and enable SATA, then install the OS. Press F3 to install a third party driver, at that moment put a floppy disk into the computer that has the needed drivers (found on your motherboards manf website) and install them.

I already insalled th os so i guess its to late but it seems to work ok. i am getting a blue screen on boot up after I updated windows something about hardware issue but it does boot up sometimes.
My mobo is an asus p5n-d with a intel quad core 2.66

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
website for drivers for your board. Under chipset you should use this driven when installing windows.

Version 9.46