Should I build or buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

melorock

Baseband Member
Take the Plunge?

Bear with me, I appreciate any advice.

I have never built a PC before, but would you recommend it? I am willing to educate myself on learning how, but is it as hard as it sounds?

Here's my needs if you wish to read.

I'm thinking......A laptop and a Desktop
laptop - I know it is off topic for this forum, but It's a piece to the puzzle. Bascially I use the laptop for the portability aspect and use it in the classroom, wireless internet, email, photos, listening music, GPS, mostly temporary files. Not too fancy right?

Desktop - I want a top quality Desktop with excellent graphics and plenty of power and storage space. The main purpose is to set up a DAW (digital audio workstation). I want to record and produce music practically professionally and I plan to purchase top quality software applications.
I would like a few games like Oblivion and the Sims, but I don't consider myself a hardcore gamer. I want to do some photoshop and a little graphic design, but mostly an emphasis on a home recording studio. I plan to "feed" my laptop off of my Desktop.

But....
Apple or Windows?
What's your unbiased opinon on the best OS for what I am trying to do? If I choose apple, I could have "both" (provided enough memory), but would it be practical?

The cost shouldn't be too outrageous. The laptop is almost basic (portability aspect), and since I'm building the PC the cost shouldn't be too outrageous correct? I'll do whatever it takes because I have worked hard for this, but not throw money away.

Sorry for the essay and the ignorant questions, I sincerely APPRECIATE any feedback
-melorock

EDIT: My budget is idealistically 2000 and below, but if needed be, I'm prepared to go to 2,500. Thanks again guys