Tell me what you think...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sephiro12

Beta member
Hi all, I'm about to build a new computer and I was wondering if you'd lend me your thoughts! I'd like to imagine that I'm an experienced computer USER, but this is my first time building a system myself so I'm a bit of a n00b in that area. I will have someone helping me put it together and I pretty much know where everything goes from my current computer so yeah. My budget is about $750. I don't think I'll need all of that but it's there if necessary.

As far as objectives for the computer, I want it to.. um.. be really fast? I'm just trying to build an all-around fast computer so that I'll be able to play new games and play future games for at least some time. And I want to do my more mundane tasks with blazing speed as well!

Anyway, here's what I've got on my Newegg wishlist:

Motherboard - ASRock A780FullDisplayPort AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Video Card - ZOTAC ZT-98GEY3P-FSR GeForce 9800 GT 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card
The video card is one of my uncertain areas. Not knowing what the numbers mean seems to be a n00b issue, and unfortunately I'm a n00b! So I've been told by someone that the 8800 GTS was like really good and that I should get that, but then I saw a review of some other card saying that they had just upgraded from an 8800 GTS. So I'm kind of confused. Also, I am partial to nVidia. Oh yeah, incidentally, I don't know what I think of the brand "ZOTAC"... but I don't know if it matters at all.

Processor - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor