ATI or Nvidia??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Red Beret

Baseband Member
Hey guys, I just bought a built by ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, with 128 MB of ram. I know everyone says it's a good card, but I know Nvidia makes good hardware as well. Now I gotta say, I have never tried Nvidia before, so I don't know anything about it, nor the brand names who make the actual cards...so can anyone tell me any good Nvidia cards, that match in performance with the 9800 Pro, along with the best companies who make them...and some kind of a link would be great. So basically, I need the card chipset name(9800 for example) , version of card, so SE, Pro, or XT, or whatever Nvidia uses, and the maker who makes it...now please recommend some good brand names as well. Thank guys, I only got about a week to return the 9800 Pro, if I find an Nvidia who is good enough. So please post as much as you can. Thanks.:)

there is no Nvidia card as good as the 9800 in its class..

however, at the moment all of Nvidia's 6800's are better then anything out.(that is unless ATI drastically improves there driver's for compatability with OpenGL)

6800 is about $290

6800GT is about $390

and 6800 Ultra is about $490
---------------------------------------------------------
here are links that helped me... http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2195&p=1 (they have detailed charts in that one)

http://www.anandtech.com/guides/showdoc.aspx?i=2176&p=2

ATi has better image quality, while nVidia has better performance (6800+).

agex000 sais is all in 2 words. Yea the ati tends to generate more clear, sharp images. The 6800 will give u much better frame rates, but the images quality just isnt there, but dont get me wrong, the images are still AMAZING.

If you want image quality, then ATi. If you want performance, then nVidia