Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm no WC expert, but I'd say the excessive length of tubing and the fact that the radiator is laying down and in a spot with no airflow, is your cooling problem. That, and your horrid wire management. :p

Make sure speed stepping is off in the BIOS, and then increase FSB until it is unstable. Then, raise the VCORE by one increment and raise FSB until it is again unstable. Rinse and repeat until you're no longer stable by VCORE alone, and then come back. Also, stop VCORE increasing at around 1.375V - 1.4V, you really shouldn't need that much for 4GHz.

Also, turn your memory divider/frequency down so that it doesn't get overclocked as well. You should be able to hit 4GHz without too much problem.

will try overclocking when we solve my temp. issue lol. And yes, wire management is horrid but theres not much I can do. This case actually dropped my mobo temp 10c, airflow doesnt effect my cpu too much due to water cooling. I think my tube length is ok?

There's a lot you can do.

On the first pic, move the 8 pin (I think) wire so that it's not drooping over everything. Put it under the graphics card notch or something.

Ziptie all SATA cables so that it is one strand, not individual.

Bundle loose wires into one strand, and then tuck them out of view or against something solid.

Bundle extra unused connectors and stuff them in an empty space.

EDIT: Also, I think your tubes would be a lot shorter if you mounted the pump somewhere else. Like, maybe on top of the PSU or something. It seems unnecessarily far away from everything.

But again, I'm no WC expert...so don't listen to me. :p