Computer Started Freezing Randomly

Status
Not open for further replies.

acco331

Baseband Member
Hi, I'm new to these forums but a long time computer hobbyist, I was wondering if you could help give me pointers on why my computer has started freezing randomly.

Processor: Intel e8400
Motherboard: Gigabyte GAEP35C
Video Card: 8800GT EVGA
Power supply (2-3 years old): Antec NEO 550W
Case: Antec LANboy Aluminum
CD Drive: Samsung Dvd combo Drive SATA
Hard Drive: Segate 320GB SATA
Memory: GSkill 4GB 5-5-5-15 PC6400

Ok, story goes that I've been using this comp for 6 months or so, and in the begining had no problems, then it started freezing randomly, so I reinstalled windows and thought everything would be ok. However now the computer freezes more than ever.

I took everything apart, cleaned/dusted it off, and put everything back together and reinstalled windows with full format again (legit license). Upgraded to SP3, downloaded all latest drivers.

Still freezes randomly. It might be just sitting there for 1-2 days, no problems, then will freeze. Or will freeze right when i open a webpage, etc.. very random.

I set motherboard to optimized defaults and it still freezes.

What do you suggest I do? Would upgrading the bios do anything? Thanks.

I also want to add I did Memtest86 v3.4 and there were no errors

As for Drivers, I did install Nvidia's new video driver during my install, and I did buy a new Logitech Revolution Mouse...

If your temps are normal, you can try running Memtest86+ as well:

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

Burn the ISO to CD, boot off of the CD, and let it run for about 4 hours minimum.

is there a big diff between memtest + and regular memtest? I ran the regular memtest and got no errors, took 1 hour 40 min.

I think temperatures are ok, here are the readings from SpeedFan:

At Idle:

GPU core 66c
Intel Core 1: 32C
Intel Core 0: 38C
Ambient temperature 51C

(It is pretty cold right now, even in Cali)