SATA HDD undetected, black screen at startup

Status
Not open for further replies.

gitarted

Beta member
...a few strange issues here.

I just installed a SATA drive into my PC and my computer isn't seeing it.

The HDD is a WD 640Gb SATA, The PC has an A-bit AV8 mobo, AMD Athlon 64 3200, running XP pro sp1

I tried installing the HDD using the installation disc it came with, but the drive seems to be not there. I also tried to format the HDD using my XP disc, but it doesn't "see" the drive.

I looked for it in the BIOS but it's not showing up there either.
and now, after going into the BIOS looking for this HDD I must have unknowingly changed something.
now when I start the computer I get a long pause with a black screen before and sometimes after the welcome screen.

This is the first SATA drive I've installed (total Noob) and now my PC gives me a black screen when booting up, and I still can't find the drive.

I read through the "stickies" and did a search to see if I could find some clue's as to how I can fix this thing, but I didn't really find anything like this, well, not exactly.

Oh, and now I'm also not hearing the usual "beep" when starting up.

I do hope someone here might have an idea what I may have done in the BIOS, or why the SATA HDD is undetected.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
D

do you have both the SATA data cable (to motherboard) and the SATA power cable (from the PSU) connected to the drive?
do you still have another HDD connected (the one with your OS on it)? in your bios, are you sure the OS drive is set to boot first?

do you have both the SATA data cable (to motherboard) and the SATA power cable (from the PSU) connected to the drive?

Yes, I have both connected.

do you still have another HDD connected (the one with your OS on it)? in your bios, are you sure the OS drive is set to boot first?

At this time I do have another HDD connected (WD 60Gb IDE)